Epping St John's

Epping St John's, formerly known as St John's Church of England Voluntary Controlled School is a school in Epping, Essex. It is set in the rural town of Epping and has close to a 1000 pupils aged 11-19.

The school is close to the central Tube line – which is 25 minutes to the centre of London and 15 minute to Stratford.

The school's motto is 'Aspire; Persevere; Succeed'.

The Executive Headteacher is Stephen Hehir. The Co-Heads of School are Jo Daniels and Emma Ruffles. The Assistant Headteachers are Michael Yerosimou, Andrea Crombie, Ann Robinson-Smith and Dustin Schuyler. Flora Christofi and Dee Sexton complete the extended leadership.

The school went through two highly successful HMI inspections in January 2016 and October 2016 under Allan Osborne's leadership. The school was called 'an extremely purposely learning environment' and leadership was 'inspirational and transformational'.

The GCSE and A Level results of 2017 saw huge improvements in attainment and progress.

The school is led by Curriculum Directors of Learning who deal with pupils' learning and progress. A team of Year Directors of Learning deal with all pastoral matters and ensure rapid progress of pupils in their year group.

ESJ is a now a state of the art building; after years of planning, designing and building .

The school is also part of a sixth form (established in September 2015), also known as the 'Epping Forest District Sixth Form', which is a consortium of local secondary schools that offer different A Levels and BTEC.

Epping St John's

Epping St John's

School Contact

Get Directions